08.31.10 I’m a Muslim Now

They came first for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up.

*          *          *

My stomach turned last week, when I read the Washington Post headline: “Nowhere near Ground Zero, but not more welcome.” Here was another story about the fervent hatred sweeping the country.  I don’t need to make the case here about what’s wrong with this bigotry or any bigotry or about how the purveyors of hate — now housed welcomingly in the Republican Party and spreading like wildfire through the heartland — are much father removed from American values than those they target.

Now is the time for people of conscience to stand up in solidarity with our our Muslim neighbors. Every act of hatred toward them is an attack on ourselves, an assault on liberty, an assault on the diversity that is our nation.  If we love freedom and justice, if we have compassion for humanity, we have no choice but to declare we are one with those being persecuted in our midst.

I’m a Muslim now.

©2010 Keith Berner

Explore posts in the same categories: Society

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “08.31.10 I’m a Muslim Now”

  1. jerry berner Says:

    I agree with you absolutely. Branding all Muslims as terrorists because of a few radicals is shameful. Didn’t we learn from what we did to our Japanese-American citizens after Pearl Harbor? The location of the mosque/cultural center is not pertinent. What about all of the other business, tourist and religious establishments in the vicinity of Ground Zero ? Should those be removed because they are inappropriate to the memory of those who perished? Muslim-bashing defiles one of the basic principles upon which our country was founded. Shame on our fellow citizens who’ve forgotten our history.

    Like


Leave a Reply

